Bastard-In-Chief By Fancy Roberts

Website | Amazon | Goodreads | Bookbub | Instagram | Tiktok | Newsletter Signup


Overall Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️




The grumpy one meets the sunshine one, but which is which?


Hailed as a genius since before he could buy a beer, Theodore Sutton runs his tech company with a healthy dose of intimidation. Notorious for growling more than he speaks and never sharing an elevator, only his dog Max knows Theo’s bark is worse than his bite.


Sophie Alexander has too much on her plate—a useless ex-husband, a sassy teenage daughter, and more bills than paycheck. But she’s an expert at being the smiling face everyone expects to see when they walk in the door at Mailbox, Inc.


When a chance encounter and a case of mixed-up pets reveals the secrets they’ve been keeping, will they be able to maintain the careful facades they’ve been living behind? Or will their explosive chemistry expose them to the world?


If you love a grumpy boss, workplace romance in the vein of Nicole Snow, Maya Hughes, or Lauren Landish, you’ll love Bastard-in-Chief! Featuring a loveable rescue dog and one-eyed cat both named Max, Bastard-In-Chief is a standalone steamy romance, with all the feels and happily ever after guaranteed!



 

Whenever I get the chance to read a new to me author, I always get a little excited. Add in the fact that it's an indie author? Even better. Bastard-in-Chief is hot. Like, make sure your devices are plugged in and charged hot. You can decide if I’m talking about something other than your kindle.


We meet Sophie and Theo. A woman who has been torn down her entire life who is scrapping by and a man who could buy a house without blinking an eye. Oh, and let’s not forget he’s her boss. She’s been a receptionist at his company for so long, that she knows she doesn’t even register on his scale of interest, but that doesn’t keep her from eyeing him from afar and wondering what that scruff of his would feel like rubbed against her skin. She is convinced he doesn’t even know she exists. The joke’s on her. He’s been so enthralled with her since the day she said ‘Good Morning’ for the first time. He’s dying to have those legs up on his shoulders. But due to their current personal status, nothing has gone past that ‘Good Morning’. That is until a situation of chance has Sophie dreading a night out as the special guest of her boss. Now all they can both think about is how incredible she felt on top of him.


I really adored this book. It felt like a grown-up and sexy version of the best Hallmark movie. With that said, it is not like Hallmark in the BEST ways. Like, charge your devices. This is a very steamy novel. If you love your contemporary romance with HEAT, this is it. I’m not telling you to read this book. But a year from now, you are going to be reading about this author selling the tops of her charts and you will be regretting that you didn’t pick up this book then.


Characters: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Writing: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Story/Plot: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Heat: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Cry Factor: ⭐️


Humor: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Add it to your TBR now!

 

Are you a reader looking for something to read? Subscribe today to be notified of our next review. Don’t forget to check out the Archives for my other reviews!


Find us on Tiktok - Amy | Katie

Find us on Instagram - Amy | Katie



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All